Bakerzin

creme-brulee1 pana-cotta rum-raisin
Bakerzin
1 Harbourfront Walk #01-207
VivoCity
Tel: (65) 6438 8700
Website: http://www.bakerzin.com
Opening Hours: 10.30am to 11.00pm, Sun to Thu
                                  10.30am to Midnight, Fri, Sat & Eve of Public Holidays

They have 9 outlets in Singapore but we visited the one at VivoCity on 17 December 2008.

It was after dinner so I was looking for desserts (bf is not the desserts type, but I dragged him along. Hehehe!).

We were quickly shown a table where we were squeezed in between 2 other tables.  Space is cramped and you can hardly walk to the other side of the table without hitting the neighboring table.

Now I have 2 gripes about Bakerzin.  First of all, the wordings of the tapas menu came in red and were in small fonts against white background.  Given the dim lighting of the restaurant, I could hardly read the menu.  (Yes, I will be giving my feedback to the management there on this.) Fortunately, they had a menu outside of the restaurant and I had already perused and made up my mind what I wanted. 

My 2nd gripe was that the taking our order service is terrible! All of the staff seemed to be so busy that they didn’t even looked our way.  One even bothered to clear the empty table next to us but didn’t even bother to check with us if our order had already been taken.  Finally, one staff came along and asked us after 10 minutes! In the meantime, I almost walked out of the restaurant already but bf is more patient, and made me wait (I’m glad that we waited at the end).

Why I’m griping about the order taking service is becoz they managed to give me my bill immediately after our orders came! Amazingly fast! And collection of money was also very fast! If they can do that, why can’t they order my order fast too?

Our orders came quickly (we ordered caramel panna cotta, vanilla creme brulee and rum & raisin ice cream).  First impression was that they all looked so beautiful that I couldn’t bear to eat.  Second impression was that they all looked small, like toys.

I love all the desserts!! especially the rum & raisin ice cream which comes with rum-soaked raisins! Their rum & raisin won over Haagen Daaz’s simply becoz of their rum soaked raisin.  Taste-wise, it is almost the same.

Now I can understand why the place is always packed.  Simply delightful desserts at a reasonable price. And yes, I’ll definitely be back again!

Leave a Reply

