The Roti Prata House

The Roti Prata House
246M Upper Thomson Road
Singapore 574370
Tel: 6459 5260
Opening Hours: 24 hours a day

My family and I were in the vicinity, and we spotted The Roti Prata House.  The signage said “Recommended by The New Paper” and we were thinking it must be not bad. So we went in and ordered 4 crispy roti pratas and 1 nasi goreng with ikan bilis and mutton keema.  We also ordered 3 drinks – 1 teh alia (tea with milk and ginger), 1 teh chino and 1 ginger tea.  I’m not sure how much each item costs individually but we paid S$10.30 on the whole. 

To my horror, the roti pratas came out exactly not what I expected!  I wanted roti pratas that are crispy, somewhat expecting them to be like the Jalan Kayu version (that was mum’s expectation too).  When the poor guy was serving the roti pratas to us, mom kept commenting, “I prefer the Jalan Kayu ones.”  I could understand as the ones that were served to us were brown literally.  Crispy pratas, true, but they never mentioned that they deep fried the pratas to make them crispy!  Imagine when you bite into the pratas, a wee bit of oil oozed out.  I think they used cold pratas and deep fry coz not only was it a bit oily, it came out as chewy too.  I was hungry so I had to finish the pratas but it was definitely a horrific experience. 

Dad enjoyed his fried rice with ikan bilis and mutton keema.  Actually, it wasn’t mutton keema per se.  They just fry the minced mutton together with the rice and gave him ikan bilis toppings.  Not bad really except that they put a lot of pepper in the fried rice, probably to mask the mutton taste. 

Drinks are totally out of this world – in the sense that they are all too sweet.  Mum’s ginger tea came out like the teh alia – she was expecting plain tea with ginger.  More a miscommunication I think.  And she said it was too sweet – she doesn’t take sweet stuff, so it really depends on your taste.  No complaints from Dad so I guess the drink is okay for him.  My teh chino was half milk tea and additional milk on the bottom half.  Overall, it was too sweet for me even though I had a sweet tooth.  It’s better to ask them not to make the drinks too sweet and then later on, if you want to sweeten the drink, you can always add more sugar (which is easily available on every table). 

I finally found the New Paper article on the web (http://www.singaporefood.com.sg/rotiprata/) but just keep in mind that the crispy roti prata is not what you see on the web.    ST Foodies Club also recommended the pratas here (http://www.stomp.com.sg/stfoodiesclub/lifeeats/Hawkers_RotiPrata/index.html). 

Sadly, I won’t recommend the crispy pratas here.  You can definitely find better quality pratas elsewhere.

6 responses to “The Roti Prata House

  1. Hey! Was browsing the internet for food pages and happened to find your webpage.

    Interesting content.

    would agree with you on this “Roti Prata House”

    I’ve eaten there only once and have swore never to return. I had the same prata as you did and i was disappointed when what i was served resembled a pastry rather than the conventional prata.

    I think they use a different type of flour and their preparation methods are different.

    They literally as you said – deep fry the prata in a thick layer of oil on the skillet.

    I still curious as to now, how the crowds always come back to this shop, with the kind of prata they sell, i would expect them to have closed down a long time back.

    If you like good pratas and thosai, may i recommend to you this shop just beside Mustafa shopping center. My gf and i frequent that place.

    The Teh Alia there is also very good.

    I cannot remember the place but it is located beside the 7-11 and Indian Convenience stalls opposite mustafa.

    Check it out if you happen to pass the area. The Tissue prata and masala thosai is really good 🙂

    All the best!

    -Alan

    • Hi Alan

      Thanks for dropping by! Is the shop that serves good pratas/thosai in a coffeeshop at the corner? I think I’ve eaten there before – cheap and good I must say! And yes, la di la, I didn’t take note of the name either. Will do a review on them soon!

  2. I went there last week and asked one of uncle staff there for the prices of some pratas on the menu (prices not stated).. he quoted $3 and $4 !!!!!
    But when i later placed my order with another staff and got the receipt, I realised that uncle staff was trying to cheat my money!!! How dishonest !!!!

    Later when i finished my food and pay at the counter, i was served by the same uncle staff who seemed a bit embarassed as he realised I would know already he was trying to cheat my money….

    I like the crispy pratas they made but I would be wary of the staff there in case they resort to cheating tactics again !!

    FIRST TIME customers BEWARE!!!

    P.S: Jus to let first timers there understand, the menu DOES NOT state prices. You simply order wif the waiter and he wud bring u the food and a receipt ONLY SHOWING THE TOTAL PRICE, NOT THE FOOD ITEMS U ORDERED. Hence, they can deny even if u claim the staff misquote prices in an attempt to cheat your money!!

    • Dear Passerby, you like the crispy prata there? Why? I thought it was horrible! Hehe… different strokes for different folks I guess.

      And thank you for the fair warning about the prices. Think we should bring this up to the authority? Coz it sounds like the case of the Newton Circus… charge what they feel like.

    • Dear Passerby, you like the crispy prata there? Why? I thought it was horrible! Hehe… different strokes for different folks I guess.

      And thank you for the fair warning about the prices. Think we should bring this up to the authority? Coz it sounds like the case of the Newton Circus… charge what they feel like.

  3. Well, i haven’t ate roti prata for some time, and I guess I’m not too fussy.. it was served fresh and hot.. so I have tried crispy pratas before and quite like it so overall i like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

