Ng Ah Sio Pork Ribs Soup Eating House

Ng Ah Sio Pork Ribs
Ng Ah Sio Pork Ribs Soup Eating House
208 Rangoon Road
Singapore 218453
Tel: 6291 4537
Opening Hours: 6am to 2pm, closed on Mondays

Just what is so special about bak kut teh that politicians court potential embarrassment just to get a taste of it at this stall? This is the BKT stall which turned down Mr Donald Tsang’s request for a bowl of the fragrant soup. Another local satirical site claims it kicked out Mr Thaksin Shinawatra after a disagreement over a bowl of innards…

The soup was a peppery blast – typical of Teochew-style bak kut teh. Robust and spicy, it is guaranteed to clear your sinuses (if it doesn’t, please see your doctor!). The garlic and pepper residue at the bottom of each bowl is evidence of how long the stuff has been boiled. Unfortunately, I did not manage to order the prime ribs that day and we ended up having off cuts, so the meat was a bit dry. I think the prime ribs would have been better.

Anyway, I can’t understand why Mr Thaksin would come here for Ter Kah (braised pig trotters) because the ones I had in Thailand were so much better. The pig trotters here was not as soft as I expected it to be. It could be that this was a new batch and did not spend enough time in the braising sauce.

Note: This review was extracted from Asiaone Wine & Dine.
Post-Makan Note

Finally! I managed to make my way here to taste the bak kut teh (BKT).  Each small bowl of BKT (this shop only has 1 standard size of BKT) costs S$5.50 and has 3 pork ribs plus soup .  A small bowl of rice goes for S$0.50.

The soup is not as peppery as I expected it to be; not that spicy that it clears your sinus but peppery enough so you can taste it in the soup.

Maybe I went there too early (I was there at 8am) so the pork ribs weren’t the kind that slides off the bones type.  I would much prefer those…. if you don’t want the fat pork ribs, please let them know while ordering.  I didn’t and they gave me the fatty ones, which are not my favourites.

What impresses me most about this place is that the “waiter” taking your order does so by using a palm.  Damn cool for a BKT place!

Parking here is a nightmare if you drive.  If you can’t park at any of the lots along the road, turn into Kent Road and park at the car park behind Blk 52.

Leave a Reply

